مرحباً بضيوف فندق روڤ،

تعد هذه الزيارة، الثانية لي في ربوع دبي، وقد وضعت نصب عيني أن أكتشف مشهد الفن في المنطقة. وبمجرد وصولي إلى فندق روڤ الجديد في وسط مدينة دبي (داون تاون دبي)، عمدت إلى استكشاف الفندق والحي المجاور له. الجدير بالذكر أن إقامتي في الفندق استمرت أسبوعاً. وفي أحد الأيام وأنا جالسة في مقصف الفندق، قابلت مجموعة من النزلاء أخبروني عن حي الفهيدي التاريخي في دبي، والشهير باسم حي البستكية، وقد أعلموني أن عشاق الفن ومحبي التاريخ من السياح يتوافدون إلى هذا المركز الثقافي لاكتشاف المعارض الفنية والمتاحف وصالات العرض والمقاهي الكائنة في ساحات المنازل. وفي اليوم التالي استيقظت مبكراً وتوجهت إلى المكان، الجدير بالنصح أنه يفضل الذهاب إلى هناك في أوقات الصباح المبكر أو بعد الظهيرة لتجنب الأجواء الحارة.

وعند وصولي توجهت بداية إلى متحف دبي الكائن في قلب حي الفهيدي الذي نال إشادة كبيرة من أصدقائي في الفندق، اكتشفت أن اسم حي البستكية مستوحى من مدينة البستك في جنوب إيران، وقام على تشييده في القرن التاسع عشر تجار الأقمشة الإيرانيين الذين جابوا المدينة لسهولة الاتجار فيها.

وتجولت في أنحاء المتحف لأكثر من ساعة مستمتعة بالمعروضات الأثرية التي تعكس تطور الإمارة من مركز لصيد الأسماك والغوص لاصطياد اللؤلؤ إلى مركز عالمي رائد في جميع القطاعات. وإذا كنتم من محبي الثقافة مثلي، فإنكم حتماً ستستمتعون بالتحف الفنية من أسلحة تقليدية ولقى أثرية تقليدية موجودة في المتحف. وبعد ذلك، جبت أروقة الحي لمشاهدة معالمه والتقاط الصور فيه، وعلى ضوء أحاديثي مع بعض مالكي المعارض الفنية، اكتشفت أنه تم الاعتراف بحي البستكية منطقة محمية وأن جميع المباني تمت إعادة ترميمها للمحافظة عليها. فالمنازل الرملية في هذا الحي متاخمة لبعضها بعضاً وتعلوها البراجيل التي كانت تستخدم للتكييف وتفصلها أروقة ضيقة. واليوم تحتضن هذه المنازل المترامية العديد من المعارض الفنية والمتاحف والمتاجر الحرفية والمقاهي.

البستكية في دبي

Image Credit DTCM

ومن ثم دلفت إلى معرض المجلس الذي يعد أقدم منصة فنية في دبي، حيث يحتضن المعرض العديد من المشغولات والأعمال الفنية الفريدة والمميزة لفنانين محليين ودوليين، إلى جانب مخطوطات شعرية وفنون الخط العربي والمشغولات الزجاجية وغيرها. كما أنني قمت بتجربة أحد ورش العمل في المعرض نتج عنها عمل فني احتفظت به كتذكار.

وخلال ورشة العمل نصحني أحد الزوار في المعرض بتجربة بيت الشاي العربي لتناول الغداء. متسلحة بتطبيق “خريطة جوجل” فقد كنت جائعة – تمكنت من العثور على المقهى مزاحماً للمعارض الفنية والبوتيكات في مينا بازار البستكية.

وقد أثبت هذا المقهى الذي يوفر العديد من المقاعد المريحة تحت ظلال الأشجار في ساحة المنزل، أنه المكان الأفضل لنيل قسطاً من الراحة وتناول المأكولات الشهية.

Bastakiya Dubai

Image Credit DTCM

وتضم قائمة المأكولات في هذا المطعم كل ما تتطلعون إليه لتناول الفطور وغيرها العديد من الأطباق العربية التقليدية مثل الفلافل وسلطة الفتوش وغيرها من المقبلات والدجاج المشوي. وكوني من عشاق الشاي كثيراً، كان قلبي يقفز فرحاً، حيث يقدم المقهى نحو 100 نوع من الشاي من أرجاء العالم. ولم أمتنع عن تناول الحلوى، فبعد وجبة شهية قطعة من كعك التمر ستذهلكم.

وبعد تناول الغداء توجهت إلى متجر هدايا “إكس في إيه” الكائن في فندق “إكس في إيه” الفني في البستكية، لشراء الهدايا التذكارية لأفراد عائلتي وأصدقائي في فرنسا. وهناك وجدت المجوهرات الفضية الرائعة والقفطان بالألوان الزاهية والمنتجات الجلدية والكتب الفنية، إلى جانب بعض الأعمال الفنية لفنانين من المنطقة.

ثم توجهت إلى مركز مواهب لأشخاص جميلين، وهو استوديو فني للبالغين من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. ويقيم المركز الفعاليات والمعارض التي تبيع مجموعة من المنتجات المزدانة بالألوان والتذكارات الفريدة مثل بطاقات المعايدة والوسائد الملونة يدوياً وصواني الفسيفساء.

Al Fahidi 4

أما محطتي الأخيرة لهذا اليوم فقد انتهت بزيارة مركز الشيخ محمد بن راشد للتواصل الحضاري الذي أسسه صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله. وتبين لي أن المركز يتبنى جولات سياحية في حي الفهيدي التاريخي وغيرها من المعالم التاريخية في الإمارة من ضمنها مسجد جميرا.

إلى جانب ذلك، يتبنى المركز ولائم غداء تمكّن الزوار من التفاعل مع بعضهم بعضاً، بينما يتناولون أشهى الأطباق الإماراتية. وهذه ستكون على رأس قائمتي الخاصة بزيارتي المقبلة.

كيفية الوصول إلى حي البستكية:

أرشدني فريق العمل في فندق روڤ عبر تطبيق خريطة “جوجل” كيفية الوصول إلى حي البستكية في بر دبي من وسط دبي الجديد.

موقع حي البستكية:

25° 15′ 50.249” N, 55° 17′ 59.9” E

تدوم الرحلة عبر سيارة الأجرة 25 دقيقة، أما عبر مترو دبي فأقرب محطة إلى حي البستكية هي محطة الفهيدي التي تبعد مسافة 5 دقائق سيراً على الأقدام. وستأخذ الرحلة من فندق روڤ في وسط مدينة دبي 30  دقيقة تقريباً.

أتمنى لكم إقامة ممتعة في فندق روڤ.

Hi Rovers,

This trip marks my second visit to Dubai and I’ve made it my mission to discover the region’s art scene. After checking into Rove Downtown Dubai – my base for the week – I quickly unpacked and set about exploring the hotel and neighbourhood.

It wasn’t until yesterday evening at Rove Downtown Dubai that I met a group of fellow Rovers who told me all about Dubai’s Al Fahidi District, otherwise know as the Bastakiya Quarter.

My newfound friends reveal that the region’s art enthusiasts and history-loving tourists have long been flocking to this cultural hub known for its galleries, museums, cutting-edge exhibitions and courtyards cafés. I’m sold and spring out of bed bright and early to get a head start on the day – I advise visiting either early morning or late afternoon to beat the midday heat.

Following a recommendation from the night before, the Dubai Museum is my first port of call. Housed within the historic Al-Fahidi Fort – one of the city’s oldest buildings – I learn that the Bastakiya Quarter took its name from the town of Bastak in southern Iran and was originally built in the late 19th century by Persian textile merchants who sought out the city due to its relaxed trade tariffs.

Al Fahidi District - Bastakiya Dubai

Image Credit to DTCM

I spend well over an hour wondering through the museum’s impressive exhibition, which charts the emirate’s evolution from a fishing and pearling village to the dynamic global hub it is today. If like me you consider yourself a culture vulture, you’ll love the huge variety of fascinating artefacts, which range from antique weapons to archaeological findings.

Next up, I stroll around the surrounding area to soak up the sights and take photographs. After chatting with several gallery owners, I find out that the Bastakiya Quarter has now been affirmed as a conservation area and many of the buildings have been restored to their former glory. Aligned side by side among narrow walkways and paths, the sand-coloured houses are topped with wind towers – a very early form of air-conditioning, an essential in this part of the world. The maze-like buildings are now home to museums, galleries, craft shops and cafés.

Old House in Bastakiya Area - Al Fahidi District Dubai

Image Credit to DTCM

I soon come across the Majlis Gallery, Dubai’s oldest fine art gallery. This creative haven showcases a curated array of innovative works by both local and international artists, in addition to pottery, calligraphy, glass and lots more crafts. Feeling inspired, I even try my hand at one of the galleries’ painting workshops and end up with a colourful keepsake from the trip.  

During the painting class a fellow traveller tells me to stop by Arabian Tea House for lunch. Feeling peckish and armed with my trusty Google Maps app, I find the café tucked away amongst the galleries and boutiques in the Bastakiya’s Meena Bazaar.

With plenty of comfy seating and shady trees covering the courtyard, this hidden gem proves to be the perfect spot to take a break and enjoy a bite.

The eatery serves up a tempting menu featuring a hearty supply of breakfast favourites and lots of traditional Arabian delights such as falafel, mezze, fattoush salad and shish taouk. An avid tea drinker, I was pleased to see that the café also offers a selection of over 100 exotic teas from across the globe. Never one to turn down dessert, I cap off my meal with their delicious Luqaimat, traditional Emirati crunchy sweet dumplings.

Luqaimat - Traditional Emirati Dessert - Dubai

To work off my lunch I walk over to the XVA Gift Shop, a unique boutique located within the XVA Art Hotel – a small guesthouse nestled in Bastakiya – to pick up a few treasures and trinkets for my friends and family back home. Here I find antique-inspired silver jewellery, flowing printed kaftans, leather goods and art books. The store also stocks a selection of crafts by regional artists.

Next up, I visit Mawaheb from Beautiful People, an art studio for adults with special needs. The space often holds events and exhibitions and also sells a number of colourful goods and souvenirs, including greeting cards, hand-painted cushions and mosaic trays.

My last stop of the day is a trip to the Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding. Founded by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, I discover that the centre provides in-depth guided tours of the Al Fahidid Historic District, as well as other heritage sights including the Jumeirah Mosque.

The centre can also arrange communal meals where you can meet and mingle with nationals while enjoying an authentic Emirati feast – definitely one for my next trip.

How to get there:

The helpful team at Rove provided me with the Google Maps route from the hotel in Downtown Dubai to Bastakiya Quarter in Bur Dubai.

The route: 25° 15′ 50.249” N, 55° 17′ 59.9” E

A taxi will take you around 25 minutes or if you fancy taking the Dubai Metro, Al Fahadi is the closest metro station to the Bastakiya and just a short five-minute walk to the galleries. The journey from Rove Downtown Dubai will take approximately 30 minutes.

Happy Roving!

Blog written by Rover Carly, an art passionate student visiting from France. She loves all things art and culture related and hopes to open her own gallery when she graduates. She loves finding hidden spots off the beaten track.