Rover伙伴们,大家好!

这是我第二次到迪拜,这趟到访的主要目的是探索这个地区的艺术景点。入住Rove Downtown Dubai酒店后(我旅行的这周就住在这里),我迅速扔下了行李,马上出发到酒店及其四周探索一番。

昨天晚上,在Rove Downtown Dubai酒店我遇到了一群同样来旅游的住客,他们给我介绍了迪拜的阿法迪街区,那里也被人们称作Bastakiya区。

我新认识的朋友们说,这个地方的艺术爱好者和喜爱历史的旅游者们很久以前就开始纷纷蜂拥来到这个以画廊、博物馆、高品质展览和庭院咖啡馆而闻名的文化枢纽了。我接受了他们的建议,天还没亮就早早起床出发了——我建议要么清早要么下午晚些时候再外出参观,以避开中午的酷热天气。

根据前一个晚上朋友给我的建议,迪拜博物馆成为我参观的第一站。Bastakiya区坐落在阿法迪历史要塞(这个城市里最古老的建筑之一)之中,据我所知,它因为位于伊朗南部的Bastak小镇而得名,最早是在19世纪由波斯纺织品商人建立起来的,这些纺织品商人因这座城市宽松的交易税而来到这里。

Al Fahidi District - Bastakiya Dubai

                                           图片来源:DTCM 

我花了一个多小时的时间在这个博物馆里参观令人印象深刻的精彩展览,展览描绘了阿联酋如何从一个以打渔和采集珍珠为主业的小村庄,慢慢发展成为今天这个充满活力的全球枢纽。假如你和我一样,自认为是一名文化热爱者,你一定会爱上这里琳琅满目、令人叹为观止的手工艺品,从古董武器到考古发现,应有尽有。

接下来,我在四周闲逛了一下,沉浸在美丽的景色当中,拍了许多照片留念。在和多位画廊主人聊了聊之后,我发现Bastakiya区现在已经被确认为保护区,而且很多建筑物已经被恢复成原来恢弘壮丽的风貌。浅褐色的房子在狭窄的街巷之间并排着靠在一起,顶上还建有测风塔——这是最原始的“空调”,在这个地区它是必不可少的。这些迷宫般的建筑物如今已经成为博物馆、画廊、工艺品店和咖啡馆的聚集地。

<Old House in Bastakiya Area - Al Fahidi District Dubai

                                           图片来源:DTCM 

很快我来到了Majlis Gallery,这里是迪拜最古老的画廊。这个创意天堂集中展示了本地和国际艺术家们的一系列创意作品,以及陶艺、书法、玻璃和更多其他工艺作品。我感觉自己获得了灵感启迪,甚至亲手在这家画廊的绘画培训班体验了一下,给这趟旅行留下了一份多姿多彩的纪念品。

上绘画课的时候,同班的一位旅行者告诉我,一会儿可以顺道在Arabian Tea House吃午餐。我当时感觉肚子确实有点饿了,凭借值得信赖的谷歌地图App,我在Bastakiya区Meena Bazaar众多画廊和精品店中间找到了这家隐蔽的小餐馆。

这家小餐馆有许多舒适的座位,庭院里绿树成荫,它像一颗隐藏的珍珠一样,确实是休息和享受美食的绝佳去处。

餐馆的菜单令人心动,其特色是丰盛的早餐餐点以及大量传统阿拉伯风味小食,如Falafel、Mezze、Fattoush沙拉和Shish Taouk等。作为一个酷爱喝茶的人,我非常欣喜地发现这家小餐馆还提供来自全世界各地的100多种异域风味的茶饮。从来不拒绝甜点的我在餐后又点了一份他们店里美味可口的Luqaimat,这是一种传统阿联酋美食——甜甜脆脆的糖浆炸丸子。

Luqaimat - Traditional Emirati Dessert - Dubai

为了让午餐好好消化一下,我步行到了XVA礼品店,这是一家位于XVA Art Hotel(Bastakiya区的一家小旅馆)的特色精品店,在那里挑选了许多小珠宝饰品准备回家的时候送给家人和朋友。我还在那找到了古老的银质首饰、飘逸的印花长衫还有一些皮件和艺术类书籍。这家店里还收藏了大量当地艺术家的工艺作品。

下一站,我参观了Mawaheb from Beautiful People,这家艺术工作室专门针对有特殊需求的成年人而设立,它会经常举办活动和展览,也出售一些色彩丰富的商品和纪念品,包括贺卡、手绘枕套和马赛克托盘等。

当天我的最后一站是去参观了谢赫穆罕默德文化理解中心( Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding)。它由阿联酋副总统、首相以及迪拜的统治者Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum阁下所建立,我了解到这个中心提供前往阿法迪历史街区以及包括朱美拉清真寺在内的其他文化遗产景点的深度导览之旅。

该中心可以安排你体验共享餐,让你在享受真正阿联酋大餐的同时和本国人见面并和他们交流共融——我的下一趟旅行一定要体验一下。

如何到那里去:

Rove酒店贴心的员工给我提供了从Downtown Dubai酒店到位于迪拜布尔区的Bastakiya区的谷歌地图路线。

路线:25° 15′ 50.249” N, 55° 17′ 59.9” E

坐出租车的话大约需要25分钟,或者如果你想乘坐迪拜地铁的话,Al Fahadi是到Bastakiya区最近的地铁站,只需要再走短短的五分钟时间就可以到画廊所在地了。从Rove Downtown Dubai酒店出发,整个行程大约需要30分钟。

愿你享受快乐的探索之旅!

由Rover Carly撰写的博文,她是一名热爱艺术的法国学生。她喜欢一切与艺术和文化相关的东西,希望在毕业后能够开一家属于自己的画廊。她喜欢到不为人知的地方寻找那些隐藏的好去处。

Hi Rovers,

This trip marks my second visit to Dubai and I’ve made it my mission to discover the region’s art scene. After checking into Rove Downtown Dubai – my base for the week – I quickly unpacked and set about exploring the hotel and neighbourhood.

It wasn’t until yesterday evening at Rove Downtown Dubai that I met a group of fellow Rovers who told me all about Dubai’s Al Fahidi District, otherwise know as the Bastakiya Quarter.

My newfound friends reveal that the region’s art enthusiasts and history-loving tourists have long been flocking to this cultural hub known for its galleries, museums, cutting-edge exhibitions and courtyards cafés. I’m sold and spring out of bed bright and early to get a head start on the day – I advise visiting either early morning or late afternoon to beat the midday heat.

Following a recommendation from the night before, the Dubai Museum is my first port of call. Housed within the historic Al-Fahidi Fort – one of the city’s oldest buildings – I learn that the Bastakiya Quarter took its name from the town of Bastak in southern Iran and was originally built in the late 19th century by Persian textile merchants who sought out the city due to its relaxed trade tariffs.

Al Fahidi District - Bastakiya Dubai

Image Credit to DTCM

I spend well over an hour wondering through the museum’s impressive exhibition, which charts the emirate’s evolution from a fishing and pearling village to the dynamic global hub it is today. If like me you consider yourself a culture vulture, you’ll love the huge variety of fascinating artefacts, which range from antique weapons to archaeological findings.

Next up, I stroll around the surrounding area to soak up the sights and take photographs. After chatting with several gallery owners, I find out that the Bastakiya Quarter has now been affirmed as a conservation area and many of the buildings have been restored to their former glory. Aligned side by side among narrow walkways and paths, the sand-coloured houses are topped with wind towers – a very early form of air-conditioning, an essential in this part of the world. The maze-like buildings are now home to museums, galleries, craft shops and cafés.

Old House in Bastakiya Area - Al Fahidi District Dubai

Image Credit to DTCM

I soon come across the Majlis Gallery, Dubai’s oldest fine art gallery. This creative haven showcases a curated array of innovative works by both local and international artists, in addition to pottery, calligraphy, glass and lots more crafts. Feeling inspired, I even try my hand at one of the galleries’ painting workshops and end up with a colourful keepsake from the trip.  

During the painting class a fellow traveller tells me to stop by Arabian Tea House for lunch. Feeling peckish and armed with my trusty Google Maps app, I find the café tucked away amongst the galleries and boutiques in the Bastakiya’s Meena Bazaar.

With plenty of comfy seating and shady trees covering the courtyard, this hidden gem proves to be the perfect spot to take a break and enjoy a bite.

The eatery serves up a tempting menu featuring a hearty supply of breakfast favourites and lots of traditional Arabian delights such as falafel, mezze, fattoush salad and shish taouk. An avid tea drinker, I was pleased to see that the café also offers a selection of over 100 exotic teas from across the globe. Never one to turn down dessert, I cap off my meal with their delicious Luqaimat, traditional Emirati crunchy sweet dumplings.

Luqaimat - Traditional Emirati Dessert - Dubai

To work off my lunch I walk over to the XVA Gift Shop, a unique boutique located within the XVA Art Hotel – a small guesthouse nestled in Bastakiya – to pick up a few treasures and trinkets for my friends and family back home. Here I find antique-inspired silver jewellery, flowing printed kaftans, leather goods and art books. The store also stocks a selection of crafts by regional artists.

Next up, I visit Mawaheb from Beautiful People, an art studio for adults with special needs. The space often holds events and exhibitions and also sells a number of colourful goods and souvenirs, including greeting cards, hand-painted cushions and mosaic trays.

My last stop of the day is a trip to the Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding. Founded by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, I discover that the centre provides in-depth guided tours of the Al Fahidid Historic District, as well as other heritage sights including the Jumeirah Mosque.

The centre can also arrange communal meals where you can meet and mingle with nationals while enjoying an authentic Emirati feast – definitely one for my next trip.

How to get there:

The helpful team at Rove provided me with the Google Maps route from the hotel in Downtown Dubai to Bastakiya Quarter in Bur Dubai.

The route: 25° 15′ 50.249” N, 55° 17′ 59.9” E

A taxi will take you around 25 minutes or if you fancy taking the Dubai Metro, Al Fahadi is the closest metro station to the Bastakiya and just a short five-minute walk to the galleries. The journey from Rove Downtown Dubai will take approximately 30 minutes.

Happy Roving!

Blog written by Rover Carly, an art passionate student visiting from France. She loves all things art and culture related and hopes to open her own gallery when she graduates. She loves finding hidden spots off the beaten track.