Rover伙伴们,大家好!

过几天我会坐飞机回到我的家乡迪拜度过为期一周的假期。我目前正在伦敦市中心的一所大学学习时尚史,这个学期已结束,暑假是与家人重聚的好机会,并且还可以为即将开展的学校项目寻找灵感。

跟着我踏上旅程,一同探索我度过童年时光的德拉社区,那里是迪拜最古老的地方之一,荟萃了这座城市最好的露天市场、画廊和公园。

我哥哥也住在德拉区,他会告诉我与社区发展相关的所有事情,比如说新开的餐馆,比如说Rove City Centre这家位于社区中心的时尚现代酒店。它位于新老迪拜之间,是到访迪拜各地走亲访友的理想基地。

第一天,我一觉醒来后就立即前往Dubai Creek岸边的一家小咖啡馆,品尝我最喜欢的土耳其咖啡。从这儿,你也可以在Al Sabkha水上巴士站搭乘传统的Abra船,穿过小溪,或者在一个小时的航行中欣赏沿岸风景。

我在Sikkat Al Khail街的德拉露天香料市场漫步,带着相机和写生簿,记下可能会给我的大学项目带来任何创意的想法和景象。

这个露天市场有很多可看可买的东西,从新鲜的香草和香料到配饰、家居用品和香水,他们都藏匿在这传统的窄巷里。

这里的许多小商店都是家族所有,自从这个露天市场于几十年前首次开业以来就一直在这里。我发现了一些熟悉的面孔,停下来问候一位名叫Aaliyah的老朋友,我们已经相识多年了。她在集市上有一个正宗的指甲花手绘摊位,我忍不住坐下来,让她为我的手绘上精致美丽的图案。这种染料最多可以持续两周,我希望在飞回伦敦后还可以展示给我的朋友们看。

而后,我又逛了一些香料摊位,饱览了无数五颜六色的香料和草药,比如藏红花、肉桂棒和肉豆蔻。你可以挑选一些芳香的干玫瑰花蕾,我妈妈喜欢把它放在碗里,摆在屋子四周。大胆的色彩、丰富的质地和充满异国情调的香味,给了我无止尽的灵感。

只要花上1迪拉姆乘坐Abra船过河,你就会来到阿法迪历史街区,这是一个遍布画廊和博物馆的文化中心,包括迪拜博物馆,那是一个有趣的地方,可以看看迪拜的旧照片和古董文物。这一带真是个好地方,我可以在此消磨一下午的时光,愉快地在迷宫般蜿蜒的建筑物中迷失几个小时,逛遍了所有的小工艺品商店和展览馆。我没能忍住肚里的馋虫,在Arabian Tea House吃了一份令人垂涎三尺的蛋糕,那是位于Meena Bazaar的一家古色古香的咖啡馆。它真是隐藏在这座城市的珍宝!

晚上,我喜欢和我的朋友们见面,去阿尔玛扎公园探索游玩。这个遍地青草的海滨公园仅离Rove City Centre 五分钟车程,这里有许多有趣的娱乐项目,有游泳池、游乐场、水上运动器具租赁,等等。我们通常会选一个近一点的烧烤炉,在大自然中烹饪美食。

几天之后,我和哥哥一起前往露天纺织品市场,它就在距离德拉露天香料市场几步之遥的地方。这里有成排的商店,太阳下的树荫处放满了可以想象得到的各种面料,从金丝织锦到印花的天鹅绒和丝绸等等。在轻轻松松讨价还价了几个小时之后,我带着为我的时尚项目选购的许多纺织品离开了那里。

晚上,我们去了德拉露天金市,这是一个充满活力的市场,有许许多多珠宝商店,售卖钻石、宝石、银饰以及许多漂亮的金子做的小玩意儿。那里有大型珠宝连锁店,比如Damas,但我喜欢去小一点儿的精品店和独营小摊,制作定制作品。逛了几个商店之后,我确定了合适的价格,购买了一条精致的玫瑰金项链,用阿拉伯语刻了我的名字在上面,还买了其他两件准备在回伦敦后作为礼物送给我的朋友。

接下来的几天,我始终沉浸在这个迷人的社区里,在熙熙攘攘的德拉鱼市场用餐,黄昏时沿着单桅帆船码头 (Dhow Wharfage)散步,远处是色彩明丽的船舶和货轮,运载着来自世界各地的出口商品。许多独桅帆船现如今都改成水上餐厅了,人们可以在船上用餐,伴着现场演奏的音乐,欣赏水上的风景,带来独特又有趣的体验,夜晚来临,你还将领略到德拉区星星点点的海滨灯火构成的无敌美景。

离开的时间总是那么快就来到,然而满载着新的想法和发现,我已经充满创新的能量,为新的学期做好了准备。

这张地图可以帮助你在周边地区游览!我们很快就会再见的,德拉区!

Zeina

Hi Rovers,

In just a few days I will be jetting back to my hometown of Dubai for a weeklong vacation. I’m currently studying fashion history at a college in central London, and with the latest semester complete, the summer break will be the perfect opportunity to catch up with family and seek out inspiration for my upcoming school projects.

Follow me on my journey as I explore my childhood neighbourhood of Deira, one of the oldest parts of Dubai and epicentre of some of the city’s best souks, galleries and parks.

My older brother also lives in Deira and tells me all about the neighbourhood developments, from new foodie openings to Rove City Centre, a trendy modern hotel in the heart of the neighbourhood. Positioned between new and old Dubai it will act as the ideal base for visiting friends and family across Dubai.

On my first day I wake up and immediately head out for cup of my favourite Turkish coffee at a little café nestled along the bank of the Dubai Creek. From here you can also hop aboard a traditional abra boat at the Al Sabkha Water Taxi Station to cross the creek or simply enjoy the sights on an hour-long cruise.

I stroll over to the Deira Spice Souk on Sikkat Al Khail Street armed with my camera and sketchbook to jot down ideas and sights that might spring any creative ideas for my college projects.

Spice Souk

There is plenty to see and buy in the souk, from fresh herbs and spices to accessories, homewares and perfumes, all tucked away in the traditional narrow lanes.

Many of the little shops are family-owned and have been here since the souk first opened several decades ago. I spot a few familiar faces and stop to greet an old friend named Aaliyah, who I’ve known for years. She owns an authentic henna stall in the souk and I can’t resist sitting down to have my hands painted with the intricate pattern. The dye lasts up to two weeks so I’m hoping it will still be evident to show my friends when I fly back to London.

From there, I browse a few of the spice stalls, drinking in the countless mounds of multi-coloured spices and herbs such as saffron, cinnamon sticks and nutmeg. You can also pick up sweet-scented dried rose buds, which my mother loves to place in bowls around our house. The bold colours, array of textures and exotic aromas never cease to inspire me.

Deira - Dubai Creek Abra Ride

Cross the water on an Abra boat for just 1 Dirham and here you’ll find the Al Fahidi Historical Neighborhood, a cultural hub packed with galleries and museums, including the Dubai Museum, which is an interesting spot to check out old photos of Dubai and antique artifacts. This neck of the woods is a wonderful area to wile away an afternoon – I could quite happily get lost among the winding maze-like buildings for hours, wandering around all the little craft shops and exhibitions. And I can never resist stopping by for a slice of mouth-watering date cake at Arabian Tea House, a quaint café within the Meena Bazaar. It’s a real hidden gem in the city!

In the evenings, I love meeting up with my friends and venturing out to Al-Mamzar Park. This grassy beachside park is just a 5 minute drive from Rove City Centre and has plenty to offer, from a swimming pool to playgrounds, water sports rentals and much more. We usually grab an area near one of the many barbecue pits and cook up a storm in the great outdoors.

A few days later, my brother and I head to the textile souk, located just a few steps from the spice souk in Deira. Here we’re met with rows of shops bursting with metre upon metre of every fabric imaginable, from gold thread brocades to velvets and silks in every print and shade under the sun. After a few hours of light-hearted haggling, I walk away with a hefty selection of textiles for my fashion project.  

Later on in the evening we wander over to the Deira Gold Souk – a lively market spot filled with dozens and dozens of jewellery shops all offering diamonds, gemstones, silver and plenty of beautiful gold trinkets. Here you’ll find large jewellery chains such as Damas, but I like to visit the smaller boutiques and independent stalls to get custom pieces made. After stopping by a few shops, I find the right price and pick up a delicate rose gold necklace with my name in Arabic along with two more to gift my friends back in London.  

I spend the next few days soaking up all the neighbourhood has to offer, from meals at the ever-bustling Deira Fish Market to sunset walks along the Dhow Wharfage savouring the vista of brightly-coloured boats and cargo carriers loaded with exported goods from all corners of the globe. Many of the dhows have now been converted into floating restaurants where you can enjoy a feast on-board to the sounds of live music as you cruise the water – it’s a fun experience and you’ll get a great view of Deira’s twinkling waterfront lights at night.

The time to leave has arrived all too soon, but stocked with fresh ideas and finds, my creativity has been recharged and I’m ready to tackle the new term ahead.

Here’s a map to guide you around! See you soon Deira!

Zeina